The TALIESIN ARTIST RESIDENCY PROGRAM invites experienced visual artists to engage and respond to the unique characteristics of the architectural sites of Taliesin and Taliesin West and their vibrant communities.

The Residency Program is open to visual artists living in the U.S. or abroad with a graduate-level academic background and/or a record of work within the art field, focusing on site-specific installation and contemporary works. Priority will be given to artists who respond to natural, architectural or community settings.

The Taliesin Artist Residency is based at Taliesin, in Spring Green, Wisconsin and Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Frank Lloyd Wright established the Taliesin Fellowship in 1932, which was based on the idea of the allied arts fostered in a community of learners that could be an alternative to the traditional university. The program developed into what we know today as Taliesin, the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture. From its origins, Taliesin has served as a living, working, educational space, forming a creative and diverse community of professional architects, artists, faculty, students and staff.

Individuals must be willing to participate in Taliesin life and actively interact with community.

Applications will be accepted once a year and reviewed by a selection committee.

Back to top

Application Requirements (download application guidelines and forms below)

  • Application Form

  • Resumé

  • Brief Artist Statement

  • 10 .jpg Images on CD that best represent your work (3-5 min. if submitting video/DVD or audio on CD)

  • Image script with thumbnails of images (you may write a one-line description next to title only if necessary for understanding the work)

  • Financial Aid Form (optional)

  • Application fee $ 20 non-refundable, payable to Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation (domestic payments – money order or check; foreign payments – U.S. funds drawn on a U.S. bank only)

  • SASE with enough postage for return of your materials


(NOTE: This is not a postmarked deadline)
Please contact us with any questions:

Back to top

For APPLICATION FORM and more information on the Taliesin Artist Residency Program please
> download PDF.



Johna Hansen
Paul Davies


Charlie Smith
Beth LaCour
Joao Santos
Carrie Dickason
Cheryl Wing-Zi Wong

Special thanks to Ted Decker Catalyst Fund and the Luso-American Development Foundation for their generous grant support to our visiting artist Joao Santos.


Gabriela Goldbaum
Helen Lessick
Yann Novak

Marna Shopoff
Santiago Borja
Elisabeth Heindl
Loretta Tedeschi Cuoco
Jason McDonald


Cornelia Jensen
Robyn Hasty
Karrie Hovey
Melanie Manos
Montana Torrey


Diego Valles
Susannah Mira
Emily Bowser
Emily Hall


Emily Bunker
Sonja Hinrichsen


Quincy Ross


Andrea Zittel
Anila Rubiku
Rebecca Peebles
Tiana Peterson
Jen Urso
Alexandra Toland
Gail Simpson


Karrie Hovey
Petra Groen
Jon Rajkovich
Tellef Tellefson
Reynaldo Thompson
Morgan Croney
Althea Murphy-Price
Wendy Wolf


Richard Garet 
Aaron Kadoch
Marius Lehene  
Ann LePore     
Amanda Schoppel  


Ana Hernandez
Saskia Jordá

< Back to top

< Close Window > >>



Artist-in-Residence Talks by
Johna Hansen & Paul Davies
Thursday February 11th, 2016
7:30 pm Talk followed by reception
Living Room, Taliesin West

Back to top

Residency Sessions:

Residency period is 4 weeks. Final dates will be confirmed upon acceptance.

Summer Residency (Taliesin, Wisconsin)

Session 1: July

WInter Residency (Taliesin West, Arizona)

Session 2: November

Spring Residency (Taliesin West, Arizona)

Session 3: February

Extensions will be considered on an individual basis.


TARP is supported by the Arizona Commission on the Arts with funding from the State of Arizona and the National Endowment for the Arts. The commission’s purpose is to advocate for and link artists to communities by emphasizing the individual artist. It is also partly underwritten by the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation and the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture.


Back to top